GLITCHCON 2014

This is a post convention report, as I didn’t list on my blog that I was going to this one….I really need to do a better job of that in the future.

Glitchcon 2014 was held in Springdale, AR from August 1st to 3rd. I was invited last year and it was truly abysmal from the writing perspective. However, I spoke to some very nice people and met a few that I feel will likely be friends for life. So, when invited this year, I had some apprehension, but since I wanted to change up my surroundings for the weekend so that I could finish the first draft of my proposal for the next pirates book, I decided to take a chance.

When I got there,they didn’t know who I was. They didn’t have a badge for me and it was pretty embarrassing standing out in the hallway with no badge during opening ceremonies where my face appeared on the screen to mock me…LOL But, I headed to the bar to have a drink and figured sooner or later they would figure it our and if not, I would have even more writing time.

As it was, they soon figured out the problem and for the rest of the weekend they went out of their way to make me feel welcome.

The writing panels were well attended. I had three on Saturday: Collaboration, Series Writing and WorldBuilding. I was really nice to see the high level of audience participation and the high caliber of authors on the panels. No one was a jerk..that is a miracle when a bunch of writers get together. There wasn’t even the typical first time self-published guy trying to tell everyone else what they were doing wrong. It was honest, open and informative discourse all the way.

The bit surprise was that I sold all the copies of pirates I had on the table in the dealer’s room. I kick myself in the butt for not having put more down there, but at least I can say I sold out! LOL. There were actually READERS at a media/cosplay con!

Next year I think they are poised on doing breakthrough business and I am certainly going with a stack of books.

The hotel was the Holiday Inn Springdate/Fayetteville, and other than attempting to put a nuclear family of dad, mom, brother and sister into my room after I had just taken a shower—(Thank God for towels.)—the hotel was very nice. The complimentary breakfast was actually not bad and they had some good fresh fruit and bacon…although the coffee was that typically burnt crap that I can’t stand….I like it black, but not charcoaled so much I have to add evil sugar…

So, if you get a chance to attend Glitchcon do so. It seems to be growing like a weed.

Leave a Reply

