Soonercon 2014 Here we come!

Soonercon 2014 is next weekend in my old stomping grounds, Oklahoma City! Gary Jonas and I will both be appearing so this is your chance to get your copies of Pirates of the Outrigger Rift signed by both of us. (I really need to send Chris McGrath, the cover artist, a copy to keep and a copy to sign and send back so that we will have the trifecta.)

Your official link to these panels and more can be found on Soonercon’s very awesome site: http://soonercon.com/panels

Here are the panels at which I will be appearing

FRIDAY:

3pm- Your First Con Experience

The do’s and don’ts of attending a convention, where everything is, what there is to see and do, recommendations for costuming, things you should bring, any and all things that will make your con experience better. [I have no idea what to say on this
or do on this so I will likely just make a lot of dick jokes.]

4:40pm- Reading

[Any suggestions? I won’t be able to tell
any dick jokes as I would have used them up on the previous panel so maybe a
passage or two from Pirates]

5pm- Autograph Session Upstairs

Bring em if you got em…buy em if you don’t. I will have paperbacks and audio books available.

9pm-setting up the karaoke show in what they called “10-Forward” last year.

[I will have a notebook set up for fill music
requests. If I have it, I will play it when the mood is right. I
will also have a separate list for those who would like to sign up to sing
starting at 10…. There will only be a limited number of singers as we have
only until 12:30am to have fun…150 minutes minutes of Karaoke minus 30
minutes for two dance breaks is 120 minutes available for karaoke, divided
by about 5 minutes each is only 24 people who can sing. I will push as
fast as I can and hopefully we can get more…but unless we have very
little participation please don’t expect a chance to sing again…unless
one of y’all has a TARDIS and can extend a nice time bubble around 10
Forward…I’ll let you guys work out all the timey-wimey fiddlely bits.]

10pm-Karaoke and Dance party with yours truly as the KJ.

Party like a Rock Star.

SATURDAY

11am-Humorous Horror

Why is there always someone laughing at a horror film while the rest of us cover our eyes? Panelists discuss what’s so funny about the macabre and how humor can make a better horror story. [Again, I blew my wad early on the dick jokes…so to
speak.]

2pm-Reality Bites-Why alternate histories are all the rage.

Explores the alternate history genre and why fans love it so. [There must be a spy in my midst of
someone at the NSA likes my work in progress. I have never written an
alternate history, but I have one in the works so this might be interesting….still,
I am somewhat at a loss as to what to say on this one. I really don’t
read much of it.]

4pm-Yard Dog Road Show

[God knows what mayhem we are gonna pull out of our
butts this time]

SUNDAY

12pm-Rules, we don’t need no stinkin rules!

Does it require more craft/discipline to write “hard SF” with strict physical laws; or fantasy, where you can draw your own rules of reality? [Certainly not if
I am writing it. I am the writer that refuses to tell you shit about
imaginary technology that isn’t real, because if I knew how to make a
freakin warp drive I would be a Nobel prize winner and we would have hover
boards right now!]

2pm-Magic is Real? Oh Really?

How can anybody believe that magic exists when hundreds of thousands of years of human history have left no evidence? Magic is still practiced in many religious faiths and in many cultures. Does this make it real? How so? [I
could piss so many people off on this one. I am gonna really really try
to behave. If I have a hangover I might be stoned to death for blasphemy
by a strange coalition of Christian fundies and pagans after this is over.]

Leave a Reply

